My Chik-fil-a Post


{I wrote this just after the whole Chik-fil-a thing happened…mostly after Chik-fil-a Day, August 1 I believe.}

At this point I am sure people are tired of the subject. But as a Christian with gay friends, I think this whole situation made me more hurt and upset than them. Why? Because I love them, they are my friends and I care deeply about them.

Let me first say this is NOT a first amendment issue. Because thankfully I am also allowed to voice my opinion and reaction to the situation. {as are you but I ask you remain civil and Christlike in your responses, as I plan on being in this post}

I would first like for you to imagine in your head the definition of ‘traditional marriage’.

Got it?

Webster defines Traditional as “an inherited, established, or customary pattern of thought, action, or behavior (as a religious practice or a social custom).” Webster defines Marriage as “the state of being united to a person of the opposite sex as husband or wife in a consensual and contractual relationship recognized by law” webster doesn’t mention anything in their primary definition of marriage as a religious act…if you keep reading they do.

My idea in my head of ‘traditional marriage’ is The Cleavers. And anyone that knows me, knows I am no June. In fact I believe that is one of the worst, old fashioned and out of date views of marriage around. For the past 3.5 years, I was the bread winner. My husband was in school full time working on a Masters degree. I worked 40 hours a week so we could have a roof over our head and food on the table. And we mutually agree to share all responsibilities. No one makes a decision without the others input. This is not the Cleavers traditional marriage.

Now, I would like for you to define ‘biblical marriage’. Please use bible verses if necessary…

Well, good ole Webster says the definition of ‘biblical’ is “1 : of, relating to, or being in accord with the Bible 2 : suggestive of the Bible or Bible times”. So, what does the bible say about marriage?

Multiple Wives: Genesis 4:19, 26:34, 28:9, 29:26-30, 30:26, 31:17, 32:22, 36:2, 36:10, 37:2 Exodus 21:10, Judges 8:30, 1 Samuel 1:2, 25:43, 27:3, 30:5, 30:18, 2 Samuel 2:2, 3:2-5, 1 Chronicles 3:1-3, 4:5, 8:8, 14:3, 2 Chronicles 11:21, 13:21, 24:3

Concubines: Genesis 25:6, Judges 8:3, 2 Samuel 5:13, 1 Kings 11:3, 1 Chronicle 3:9, 2 Chronicle 11:21

Rape: Exodus 22:16, Deuteronomy 22:28-29

Thoughts? Reactions? I really don’t want to hear ‘well, we have changed and given women rights and we know now this isn’t a good why of living…’ Sounds to me like we have deviated from ‘Biblical Marriage’ if you ask me…

When I hear ‘biblical marriage’ I hear married off at 14 to a 35 year old, as agreed upon by the groom and the brides father…think about Mary and Joseph…I wouldn’t say Travis and I have a ‘biblical’ marriage. We have a marriage, a marriage of love and trust, one of communication and equality. One of unity in thought, prayer, and belief.

So now that we have established and defined what trational and biblical marriage is based on definition from Websters and traditional bible verses, most being out of the Old Testament…lets talk about judgement and love, from the New Testament.

Judge not, that you be not judged.  For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, andwith the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.

Matthew 7:1-5

A friend posted this graphic on Facebook yesterday, and I just wanted to share it.

With this I will say, I am assuming that you recognize you and I are both sinners…our view of sin is wrong. We claim murder is worse than a lie and homosexuality is worse than adultery….it is not for us to decide or judge. Christ died for the Southern Baptist Preacher man and the homosexual couple down the street. No one is better than anyone else regardless of political or economic status.

Christ loves the sinner, and took on all and I mean ALL our sins when He hung on that cross…

Love. How do you love those different from you? Do you love your neighbor or do you tolerate your neighbor? {there is a difference} Do you acknowledge that you have a plank in your eye? Christ was asked which of the commandments is the greatest…his response is 2 fold…

And he said to him, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. 38 This is the great and first commandment. 39 And a second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself. 40  On these two commandments depend all the Law and the Prophets.”

Matthew 22:37-40

Now in regard to love, lets remember what Christ did for us with His death…he replaced the Old Covenant with one of Love…

23 For I received from the Lord what I also delivered to you, that the Lord Jesus on the night when he was betrayed took bread, 24 and when he had given thanks, he broke it, and said, “This is my body which is foryou. Do this in remembrance of me.” 25 In the same way also he took the cup, after supper, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood. Do this, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of me.” 26 For as often as you eat this bread and drink the cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until he comes.

1 Corinthians 11:23-26

During Christ’s ministry, He never mentioned homosexuality. Now, I know everyone is refrencing the verse in 1 Corinthians 6:9-12, so lets read it.

Or do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: neither the sexually immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor men who practice homosexuality, 10 nor thieves, nor the greedy, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God. 11 And such were some of you. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.

I would like for you to consider that in the original Greek Texts the phrase “nor men who practice homosexuality” reads “nor men who practice Sodomy”…what was the sin of Sodom? Let’s read the text below:

The two angels came to Sodom in the evening, and Lot was sitting in the gate of Sodom. When Lot saw them, he rose to meet them and bowed himself with his face to the earth and said, “My lords, please turn aside to your servant’s house and spend the night and wash your feet. Then you may rise up early and go on your way.” They said, “No; we will spend the night in the town square.” But he pressed them strongly; so they turned aside to him and entered his house. And he made them a feast and baked unleavened bread, and they ate.

But before they lay down, the men of the city, the men of Sodom, both young and old, all the people to the last man, surrounded the house.  And they called to Lot, “Where are the men who came to you tonight? Bring them out to us, that we may know them.” Lot went out to the men at the entrance, shut the door after him, and said, “I beg you, my brothers, do not act so wickedly.  Behold, I have two daughters who have not known any man. Let me bring them out to you, and do to them as you please. Only do nothing to these men, for they have come under the shelter of my roof.” But they said, “Stand back!” And they said, “This fellow came to sojourn, and he has become the judge! Now we will deal worse with you than with them.” Then they pressed hard against the man Lot, and drew near to break the door down. 10 But the men reached out their hands and brought Lot into the house with them and shut the door. 11 And they struck with blindness the men who were at the entrance of the house, both small and great, so that they wore themselves out groping for the door.

Genesis 19:1-11

When I read this story, I read that the men of Sodom were upset with Lot for inviting 2 strangers into his home. Lot offers his daughters as a peace offering…again here you can see the lack of value of a woman and see she is property not a human being they way God intended her to be. Consider the love and time God put into the creation of woman…read it here. You can argue amongst yourselves what “that we may know them” means. I wager that it means to press them for information and treat them like Aliens outside of their homeland. We as Americans do this. We hate the enemy and aren’t hospitable to them. Could it be that the sin of Sodom is simply a lack of hospitality? Why else is it listed; sexual immorality, idolatry and adultery and then homosexuality, wouldn’t it be included in the sexual immorality?

Finally, I’d like to say if other companies were to come out and voice that they support, white supremacist groups, are anti Semitic, or support sex trafficking, would we be as quick to line up for their hamburgers or chicken sandwiches? By supporting Chik-fil-a a portion of YOUR $3.50 goes to an organization that supports LEGISLATURE to make it illegal to be gay. What if we had a law saying it was illegal to lie, to our neighbor, friend, family… or a law saying we were’t allowed to do anything on Sabbath…what if simply coveting something was outlawed? Mind you this not only crosses the separation of church and state line but they are all sins, who decides that one is a greater sin than another? {only one and that would be God the Father, Son & Holy Spirit}

Here are the 10 Commandments in case you forgot them:

 “I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery.

 “You shall have no other gods before me.

 “You shall not make for yourself a carved image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth.  You shall not bow down to them or serve them, for I the Lord your God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children to the third and the fourth generation of those who hate me, but showing steadfast love to thousands of those who love me and keep my commandments.

 “You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain, for the Lord will not hold him guiltless who takes his name in vain.

 “Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.  Six days you shall labor, and do all your work, 10 but theseventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God. On it you shall not do any work, you, or your son, or your daughter, your male servant, or your female servant, or your livestock, or the sojourner who is within your gates. 11 For in six days the Lord made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested on the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy.

12  “Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be long in the land that the Lord your God is giving you.

13  “You shall not murder.

14  “You shall not commit adultery.

15  “You shall not steal.

16  “You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.

17  “You shall not covet your neighbor’s house; you shall not covet your neighbor’s wife, or his male servant, or his female servant, or his ox, or his donkey, or anything that is your neighbor’s.”

Exodus 20:2-17

As I stated in the beginning, these are my beliefs and opinions. Since Cathey came out supporting this organization…I have found it difficult to want to eat there…although their chicken sandwich is quiet fabulous…many family members of mine went and participated and will eat there more often now because of this…out of respect to my gay/lesbian friends…I think I will refrain even if they go. I guess my point is we as Christians, little Christs, need to stop hating, judging and being ‘holier than thou’. We need to love, accept each other as fallen and support one another in love not judgement.

I hope your responses are civil. I hope I have explained my beliefs in such a way that you, my reader, understand where I come from, as a friend and sister in Christ.

{all verses are taken from the ESV on BibleGateway.com}

Share some love!

