Ikea Edge, a review


I was recently asked to review the book Ikea Edge by Anders Dahlvig, former CEO of Ikea. {I was given the book in return for an unbiased review of this book I was not paid or compensated in anyway.}

I don’t know much about business. Enough to get me by and I’ve learned a lot through trial and error through ClarkeStudio. I have read a book or two, here and there on business. But I have by no means a business degree. I have friends that do and help me immensely when I am about to make a huge decision.

The Ikea Edge, is Ikea’s business plan. How they approach business from a store by store basis to the global picture. How they manage to keep prices low and how they as co workers work together in their environment.

This book is geared more for larger businesses, global/international sales. And focuses a little bit on the management related to each store as an individual. It felt as though he was trying to write the 1st few chapters as geared toward small businesses but failed in this because of the amount of information toward global responsibility, corporate policies and growth in an international market. {Again, I know nothing about business….} As much as I wanted to find this information helpful, it does nothing for me to know how to move a business into Russia or China when I am still focusing solely on my very small market of Waco/Central Texas. I felt like Dahvlig was trying to save grace when talking about environmentalism, Ikea has been one of the worst in creating green products since the movement began. Due to the heavy amount of processing their products go through and the amount of off basing these products give off, post assembly.

I am impressed with his ability to explain Ikea’s perspective on lowering consumer costs, and how this directly impacts the company. From the Cashier to the CEO, their is obviously a huge difference but the cashier to the sales person that helped you, these are the faces that ‘SOLD’ the product not the CEO.

Overall, I would suggest this book to employers of large global businesses. As a small business owner there are a few key points that we could learn from but we need to expand our business in a more realistic fashion than how Ikea does this today. I’ll be honest capitalism is not a forte of mine, in fact I find several problems with it, but I have to say I like Ikea products. I think they are affordable and the company has set out to do exactly as they do. Creating low cost trendy furniture at a price point most can easily afford. Do I agree 100% with how they function as a business, sending their work to asia and not being as green as i would like? no but I see the perspective of the company and the consumer.

 

Share some love!

