Peace in Planning


You know who you are…don’t be sad. Or embarrassed or hurt. We are who we are. Compulsively making lists for the most simple things. I’ll admit I have already begun making a list of things to do BEFORE the move {some time this summer} and a to do list for AFTER. I also make a daily list of things to accomplish each morning for work and personal/home.

WE DON’T EVEN KNOW WHERE WE ARE GOING!

But they {lists} make me feel better. I feel like I am in control if I can SEE what there is to do instead of rolling over all these ideas in my head…maybe it is because I am visual. Maybe it is because I am constantly forgetting things.

Anyone here a planner person? {I highly recommend a MOMagenda, although I am not a mom it’s a great way to stay organized!} You know keeping a planner and taking it EVERYWHERE with you? me too. I write things down that mean nothing…but should I wake up one day and not have a clue who I am or where I am my planner will write the story for me and I’ll know where I am going at what time and where I was and which whom.

As, I continue to grow my to do lists and attempt to plan for this move, I find myself in constant prayer. I know worrying does nothing, but prayer does something. I fear the possible. I worry what it will be like up there. If we will find a home quickly, if my photography will sustain me, if Travis will get the job/residency he wants, if we will find a church that has the same sense of community that UBC, University Baptist Church in Waco, Texas has, if we will be prepared for the change in weather…and on and on it goes…

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.

-Philippians 4:6

Am I alone? No, my husband knows my habits and knows my worries about moving and not being able to plan. But I also know there is a peace in waiting on the Lord to move. Waiting on His timing.

2 thoughts on “Peace in Planning

  1. My girlfriends and I were discussing planning last week. Most of us are planners, but we were talking about the tricky balance we keep between long-term vision and flexibility.

    One comparison was to packing a suitcase for vacation. Having your basics covered makes for a less stressful trip. But if someone asks you out to a fancy dinner and you haven’t packed a dress, are you going to refuse their invitation? No! You go shopping.

    The suitcase is as prepared as we know how to be. After it’s packed, we’re free to open up to the mystery. Great post, lots of food for thought!

    • Thank You Sara for your comment! I shall keep this in mind, I am trying to stay calm and not overwhelm myself with all the things that go along. By the time we actually do the move I’m sure I’ll be in control and relaxed. We plan on taking about 7 days to move, enjoying a mini vacation on our way there and I think this will give me peace and comfort before we arrive!

Share some love!

