Inspiration Workshop, Week 1-Handmade {Grandaddy Blankets}


I have a lot of handmade things around my house. Mom showed me from a young age if you get creative with what you have then you can save and buy than one something you really want. She also showed me to get creative with things I already had around the house that could no longer be used for their original purpose.

In October of 2008, my Great Grandfather, my mom’s grandpa passed away. We all knew it was coming but were still shocked when we heard the news. I was in the middle of my own crisis. We had just moved to a new city living in an old drafty house/apartment, my husband had just started his Master’s program and I had just lost the job that supported us both. It was a breaking point. I remember going to my Great Grandparent’s home over the holidays as a child. The smell of their ever continuing wood burning fireplace, Grandaddy’s home-made bbq sauce, his amazing wood cooked brisket and Great Grandma’s home cooked black-eyed peas. It made the city girl in me yearn for the country.

After Grandaddy passed away my mother and Grandmother couldn’t stand the idea of giving his shirts; pearl snaps and button downs, to Goodwill or Salvation Army. So they made a new purpose for them. They quilted them into blankets for us. There are 7 in all; one for me, my sister, my mom, my grandmother, my great aunt Jean, my great uncle Paul and my great-grandmother. All are different but they all remind us of the time and moments we had with Grandaddy.

And this is my Handmade Inspiration of the week.

My Blanket:

My Sister’s Blanket:

My Mom’s Blanket:

The Chair and side table are from my Great Grandparents too.

My Grandmother’s Blanket:

{Thank you to my LOVING family that took photos of your Grandaddy Blankets for this blog! We aren’t all photographers but you did great! Thank You! i love you!}

8 thoughts on “Inspiration Workshop, Week 1-Handmade {Grandaddy Blankets}

  1. I found you via Gussy Sews.

    What a sweet blogpost, and such a creative idea. It’s funny how Gussy inspired so many of us to reach into our memory-bank 🙂

  2. LOVE it!! I made similar blankets for family when my grandfather passed away. i’ve been avoiding making my own – the last one. Seems so final. But, I think you have inspired me to finish mine up, so I can snuggle too!

    Thank you!

  3. Oh my goodness, what a lovely story and wonderful way to keep someone around. so special.

    Came over from Gussy Sews. Now following!

Share some love!

