On Microchipping your pets


When my husband and I adopted our 2 stray kitties in July 2009, not only were getting them fixed and healthy important to us but also getting them microchipped. After having them chipped, we found out how unhealthy they really were. Our male cat Sherwin, had FIV, the feline equivalent to HIV. And Charlie girl, is a carrier for the Feline Leukemia Virus. Very sick kitties. My ultimate fear was we would move and they would get out of the house, not know the way home. In December when our home was robbed our cats were smart enough to get out of the way, sadly that meant they stayed outside for about 36 hours. And for our kitties, our immune suppressed cats this could have been disastrous.  Thankfully, they know home and were there when we arrived. {we lost our Sherwin 2 weeks after the robbery to FIP} I wasn’t worried about someone stealing our cats, I am now, because they stole my guinea pig, Molly.

I am comforted by the fact that had they been picked up by the humane society they could have easily scanned them for a microchip. I am also terrified that they won’t; that a shelter would see my cat and think she is just another feral/stray that no one wants. Charlie is special, not only is she a Feline Leukemia Carrier but she is our first pet. She was the 1st pet we adopted together. She is our girl. I know a responsible pet owner would have her collar on her all the time but, she is very feisty at night and I do believe our house is her Indy Speedway between 11pm and 4 am. Her jingly bell not only wakes us up but Asher too. She wears her collar exclusively when people are coming over {when people are coming and going from the house} and when we are away and the house sitter is coming over.

She really doesn’t mind the collar and it’s nice to hear her bell jingle. It has a special ring about it. And it is all hers.

When we adopted Asher, it was a no brainer to have him microchipped as well. And with the same company Charlie is microchipped with. Some people talk about how the microchips can move around in the body. I am sure this can happen but if he has his collar on then there are like 3 different ways for them to find us and contact us. His microchip tag is similar to a Blanket ID, it has his name, micro number and the phone number to reach the company. I am sure if someone found him and his ID tag came off they could call HomeAgain with his microchip number and then we could be contacted.

Now Asher wear’s his collar 24-7. {practically, if i need it to be quiet i’ll take his collar off for a bit but if we go outside the collar is on} He has his microchip tag, rabies and id tag. {very jingly} I am much more paranoid about him running away.

why?

Because as a child our dogs did if they weren’t fenced in. I am so afraid to let him off leash with our friends at the park, even though all their pups come running back. Asher can be a little stubborn.

I pray I will never have to use my HomeAgain Service. But knowing that my furbabies have it makes me feel so much better.

I actually had to order Asher a new microchip tag because he partially “ate” his before we went to Israel. So I got him a metal one he wouldn’t be able to eat!

Isn’t it pretty?

Better than that!

Aren’t we handsome?

So, I guess what I am trying to say in this is take matters you deem necessary to protect your pet.

9 thoughts on “On Microchipping your pets

  1. Love this!! I am a strong supporter of microchipping and we also microchip all of the dogs within our rescue group. I have seen it reunite far too many animals with their owners & know that it works. You can also subscribe to Home Again’s “lost” emails and they will send you emails of animals that are missing in your area. We then forward those emails to our rescue distribution list. Of the many dogs that I have picked up off the street, some have been microchipped & were back with their owners. There are numerous reasons that a dog could get out of their collar & with microchipping, if that happens, at least they still have the microchip to help identify them. Great blog topic!! And yes, I can relate to the chewed up plastic Home Again tag. My own dogs and some of my foster dogs have done the same thing! 🙂

    • I had my minature weiner dog micro chipped at the vets last year, but I was afraid to leave his Home Again Tag on him. I’m afraid if someone found and wanted to keep him, they would see he has been chipped and if he got sick or something that he needed a vets care, they wouldn’t take him, knowing they will see that he belongs to someone else.

      • Karla,
        I would never think of that. But sadly it is a possibility. I would rather Asher wear all his tags so in the event that he should ever get out or lost. Whoever finds him has multiple ways of contacting us and to get him home. I have to also wonder if everyone out there knows how microchipping works. They could assume that the tag is nothing more than a secure numerical tag for that animal, similar to a BlanketID.

        Overall, I think we have to hope for the best and give our animals the best possible chance to be found and for us as owners to keep our contact info up to date for in the event something does happen.

      • Karla, I can see your point and the fact is, if someone wants to keep your dog/cat, a tag or microchip isn’t going to stop them. And with the numerous emails that I receive with being involved in dog rescue of people doing horrible things to animals, if they are going to deny medical care to an animal, they will do it regardless of tags or microchip. One of my biggest fears is someone taking/keeping one of my dogs.

        And Shelby brings up a very valid & accurate point. There are many people that do not know about microchipping and without a tag they would not know to take a dog to have it scanned for a chip. Which could mean they keep your dog not even knowing that a microchip is possible. So without a microchip tag, they would have no way of knowing. You would think that common sense would tell them to post “found” signs or contact the shelters to report the animal found, but it amazes me every day that people don’t do that. Also, anyone that wants to keep your dog can do so, whether they are wearing tags or microchipped. But regardless, I believe that all animals should wear tags and be microchipped. After all, anything that makes it more likely for your furbaby to return home to you is all the better.

        Anyone can take a microchipped animal to a vet to get medical care performed and unless they actually state that they found the animal or picked it up off the street, the vet will not scan the animal for a microchip. There’s no reason to, unless they know that the dog is not yours. So if they already know that they want to keep the dog & have no care of finding the owners, they can just take the dog in to the vet as theirs and no one would be the wiser.

        Also another important fact about microchipping in supplement to Shelby’s blog is to not only get the animal microchipped, but to make sure the microchip is registered with current information! We see so many animals at the shelter that are microchipped but then the microchip is never registered. Without current contact information for the owner, the microchip serves no purpose.

  2. After many years of being pet-less I recently acquired two kittens, one at 3 months old from a breeder and a few months later a 4 month old rescue. As a single mom struggling with two kids I decided I didn’t have the energy for animals too, now the kids [human!] are grown and out on their own I wanted cats again. I grew up with cats and have always loved them. Getting my girls micro-chipped was one of the first things I did and in my opinion was a “no brainer”. As a young adult I “lost” two other cats. One after a move to a different city, I followed every piece of advise I received to acclimate Pepper to his new home but after 3 weeks when I finally let him outside for the first time it was the last time I ever saw him. Our next cat, Gypsy, disappeared during a major earthquake. Both events were heartbreaking for me and I never want to go through that again! Micro-chipping was something not available to us back then, early ’80’s, but had it been maybe they would have been recovered and come back home. Even though Lola and Lila are strictly the indoor variety I still feel much better knowing there is a way any vet or animal shelter can ID them and find me should they somehow get out and not be able to find their way home on their own!

  3. I had a very special cat, his name was Widdle Chit, and unfortunately, he managed to get out of the house one day, never to be seen again. He was not microchipped….. I searched my neighborhood for weeks on end, I checked with my local shelters almost daily, he has been gone over a year now, and I will never ever forget him. I got him when he was only about 4 weeks old, one of the guys I worked with found him on a jobsite, and I took him home. My ex boyfriend used to let the cats out, which I vehemently opposed, and one day Widdle Chit got hit by a car. He had a broken jaw, and the vet had to amputate his tail, he never went out again, until that horrible day that he managed to get out, and get lost. I now have 5 other cats, they are ALL microchipped, and the never ever go outside my patio.

  4. I’m terrified of collars. My Miss Murphy the corgi was accidentally choked when she was a puppy by her brother Tucker Bunns the corgi. I was standing within a foot of them while they were playing. Tucker got his jaw stuck under her collar which choked her. Even though I immediately separated them Miss Murphy went into shock and I almost lost her. To say the least NONE of my 5 corgis ever wear a collar. When we go for a walk, to the doggie park, the store or just for a drive each one wears a halter. Each one has their own spot in the “corgi mobile” Dodge Grand Caravan with their own seatbelt. For several years they weren’t mircochipped until I fostered a lost corgi for 11 days until I could track down it’s owner due to flyers I posted. Had that corgi been microchipped she would have been home that evening. The very next weekend ALL 5 of my corgis were microchipped. When the owner of that corgi offered me a reward I asked her to use that money to mircrochip her corgi. She said she would but I don’t know if she ever did. Instead of being licensed with the county I think they should be microchipped instead. Thank God for this technology.

  5. The new tag is very cute! I like all the extra lines of defense. Microchips, tags, bring ’em on!

    Although Gus was microchipped when he was a puppy, we still really like the idea of blanketID. I’m not sure how Home Again works, but Gus’s chip (AVID) charges almost $20 for us to change our info. That’s a bummer! Especially since we’ll be moving soon.

    Happy almost Friday!!

    • It’s about $20 a year for the service and I can get online and change our info whenever I want. I think I will feel more comfortable when we move because of the service; which covers up $500 to ship your pet home, should they get that far.

      Happy Friday to you and Gus!

Share some love!

