In Constant Prayer, a review


I received, In Constant Prayer from BookSneeze after Christmas. {Yes this review is WAY over due} And haven’t had much time to sit and read until this past weekend.

In Constant Prayer, gives the history, the how to and the importance of early Christian Prayer. I of course have never done these “office” of prayer, but I had heard of them recently just before beginning this book by my husband who went on a week long trip for a 3 hour course this semester. Where they did morning prayers and services based on the early Christian prayer schedule and routine.

I found the schedule of constant prayers interesting; sun rise, before work, noon, mid afternoon, evening, before bed and midnight. I used to feel like I lived my life in semi constant prayer, of course this was prayer throughout the day and not a set a side meditative prayer for myself and God to spend together.

I highly recommend this book to those who want to learn more about the ancient practice of prayer by early Christians.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

3 thoughts on “In Constant Prayer, a review

  1. Constant prayer, in itself is not necessarily good. Extreme fanatics of all faiths pray fervently – then do horrible things as a consequence. Others pray and are inspired to live more positive lives. I would have thought that the key to positive prayer is checking first that the intention of the prayer is in line with fundamental principles like compassion and that above all it is honest. Persisting with prayers inviting God to suspend natural laws
    eg fix the weather for the family wedding, make the nasty terminal medical condition disappear etc is an abrogation of responsibility and if we can see from evidence that it doesnt work, it is actually hypocritical to continue with this prayer form. It can also be harmful when for example it becomes a substitute for medical treatment. There is some good research showing what sort of prayer actually works. Check out my essay on the topic on my website http:billpeddie.wordpress.com

    • Peddibill,
      Your first statement “Constant prayer, in itself is not necessarily good”, is very bothersome to me. Should I not be in constant prayer with my God? Of course people of all faiths pray and yes some do horrible things as a result of it. I was always told “If it is important to you, it is important to God” of course He isn’t always going to fix the weather, or whatever it is but some times these are the times when God is guiding us along through the storm in our life. We must remain faithful to His will {and be open to it} for prayer to become a true means of communication between us and God. I believe in the medical field and have no problem seeing a psychiatrist or other health professional but would continue my daily prayers with God. These are men and women trained in medicine, as is my God in life. I will continue to pray constantly to my God. And you ought to know the book I am referring too, is focused on early Christian prayers, these are still in practice today in monasteries, also several people today practice this as a form of corporate worship.

  2. Thank you much for taking the time to read IN CONSTANT PRAYER in the first place, for saying kind things about what you read, and for sharing it with your friends. I am honored, humbled and grateful.

    Be in touch.

    Namaste —

    Robert Benson

    thelongpew.com

Share some love!

