The Help by Kathryn Stockett, a review


The Help by Kathryn Stockett

My problem with a good read is I read it in a week or less. Anyone else have that problem? This is one of those books.

Miss Skeeter, Aibileen and Minny are as close to living and breathing as they could be. Stockett created a cast of characters even the most unimaginative person would be convinced they were alive. Now, I am only 24 years old so I did not experience this time in history but I understand and can relate to the graduating/or dropping out of college to get an MRS degree;  now my mom did live in this period, she was about Mae Mobley’s age. I found through these connections I was able to connect with the characters.

Stockett wrote a powerful book. On racism and sexism. A woman’s job (white) was to get married and have babies and support the community through the Junior League. A woman’s job (black) was to raise white children, clean the white woman’s house and keep her job. A man’s job (white and black) was to support his family. This was a book of times beginning to change, as the reader you see how this begin but only a small tip of the iceberg on how they actually change.

Unfortunelty, there is still a lot of racism (especially in the South) and sexism (women still aren’t paid equal to men). But times are a changing. For a great period piece set in the 1960’s with fear and love in your fingertips, read The Help.

I did this review on my own. I did not receive compensation from the author or publisher.

Share some love!

