Picking Dandelions by Sarah Cunningham


I was recently asked to participate in my first Blog Tour this month (june), on the book Picking Dandelions by Sarah Cunningham. I have been reading  a lot of memoirs and biographies this past year and truly enjoy them, so I figured sure!

I received PD in the mail a couple of weeks ago and instantly felt a connection to Cunningham. She grew up in a Christian home where it is normal to accept Christ at a young age.  Cunningham talks about how she learns to experience Christ when she is older, comparing life to a garden. Experiencing God, from the church, internships in Chicago and doing relief efforts after 9/11. Her story isn’t anything out of the ordinary but her honesty is what captured me. For those who grew up going to church, I am sure you can relate. Not only to her stories but to her humor.

Cunningham is not only honest with herself but with God. He rewards those who recognize their faults and work to make changes. Not that we can become perfect or stop being prideful. But we can be honest and make a genuine effort to change.

My husband and I recently rented a house last year in lu of an apartment. And comparing life to a garden feels so accurate. When the gardener tells Cunningham if your ok with a mediocre garden once a week weeding is ok…this feels like my life. I get in such a rush that I minimize my time with God and weeding to such a small amount of time that my life become mediocre or like temperate waters; neither hot nor cold and full of ugly unnecessary weeds. Spending more time getting the ugly out of my life with honesty to those around me and God will bring out a brighter more colorful me!

My Summer Book Recommendations are:

Christian Encounters; Jane Austen by Peter Leithart (inspiring biography of Jane Austen)

Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers (one can never read this book too often!)

The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe (if you like Historical Fiction based on the Salem Witch Trials)

Demon; a memoir by Tosca Lee (the perspective on life from a demon)

Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen (Favorite of all her books)

One thought on “Picking Dandelions by Sarah Cunningham

  1. Pingback: The Florida Months of Michigan | Sarah Cunningham

Share some love!

