Her Mother’s Hope by Francine Rivers


***Caution: some Spoilers ahead!***

I was introduced to Francine Rivers books when I was in college…and read all that I could get my hands on! You have no idea how insanely excited I was when I found out she was writing again.

Her Mother’s Hope is based on her family’s travels and experiences and how you grow up affects the next generation. Beginning with Marta who was born and raised in Switzerland, her father not only abused her physically but also with words. He held her back from her dreams which made her even more ambitious. Marta is the head strong girl I wanted to be. Not overtly pretty but smart, kind and strong-willed. She stands up for what she believes and will fight for it. But it’s this strong will that keeps her from being the mother and mentor to her daughter Hidemara, who is quiet and truly has a servant heart, that she wants to be. Marta spent a good portion of her life saving money and living life so  she wouldn’t be a servant and now her daughter has chosen a career that will make her one! The heart-break these 2 women share between each other is painful even to the reader. Rivers has written the story so beautifully. You will love and hate these characters, question their reactions and wonder how someone could say such a thing to someone you know they love. I began to see how one parents’ action truly affect a child and how they grow up with that shadow hovering over them all the days of their lives. I also read this book in less than a week, typical for a Rivers Novel!

Overall, I give this book 5 out of 5 stars because it enthralled me. It is a shame the book has to end until Her Daughter’s Dream comes out this Fall. (Which I am eagerly waiting on!)

One thought on “Her Mother’s Hope by Francine Rivers

  1. I’ve actually struggled with Francine Rivers lately. I found that Her Mother’s Hope didn’t have very much hope at all. After writing my own review (which you can read at http://www.tracysbooknook.com ) I went out and read about 50 other reviews, and 50 out of 50 loved this book. I guess there’s always one in the crowd who doesn’t fit in – and this time it’s me. 😦

    -Tracy

Share some love!

